top of page
  • Writer's pictureOmran Aburayya

Canon Collins RMTF Scholarship for Postgraduate Study in South Africa 2025

Canon Collins Trust in partnership with Ros Moger and Terry Furlong group (RMTF) invite applications for the postgraduate study in South Africa 2025.

Canon Collins Trust in partnership with RMTF seek to support exceptional individuals who are committed to social justice in southern Africa and for whom a postgraduate qualification is an essential tool in working to create an open and just society.


Supported Study Areas

In 2025, Canon Collins RMTF Scholarship will be making awards only to those studying in three areas:

  1. Justice, which includes Climate Justice, Law, Economics and Politics

  2. Education policy and practice

  3. Humanities, which includes Literature, History, Anthropology and the Arts

➢ Please only apply if your programme of study falls into one of these disciplines.

➢ Interdisciplinary courses and doctoral studies may sometimes defy easy categorisation. Applicants are urged to use their judgement in assessing whether to apply. But applications that clearly do not fall within Justice, Education or Humanities (for example MBAs, economics, medical sciences, sports sciences, applied sciences) will not be considered for an award.


Canon Collins RMTF Scholarship Benefits

  • The value of the scholarship package will range from R20,000 to R100,000 depending on student circumstances

  • Funding for up to a maximum of two years for Masters and three years for PhD

  • Annual conference for current scholars, plus several other smaller events


Eligibility Criteria

To be considered for Canon Collins RMTF Scholarship applicants must:

  1. Be a national of, or have refugee status in, one of the following countries: (Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Swaziland, Zambia)

  2. Be normally resident in one of the above countries

  3. Be in possession of a good first degree (minimum second class, upper division or equivalent) or about to graduate in the year of application

  4. be studying or applying to study at a South African university

➢ If you are from Namibia, South Africa or Zimbabwe and are seeking to apply for a scholarship to fund your studies, then please apply for the Canon Collins Sol Plaatje scholarship instead, details can be found here.


Application Procedure

Before you submit your application, download and read this (guidelines PDF file).

Applications are made online through the online application form found on this official webpage.

Application Deadline: 22 July 2024 3:00 pm GMT





bottom of page